Augusta County Circuit Court Jury Commissioners Appointed

     STAUNTON – Augusta County Clerk of Circuit Court R. Steven Landes today announced that four Augusta County citizens have been appointed by Judge W. Chapman Goodwin, 25th Circuit, to serve as Jury Commissioners in preparation to review next year’s potential list of qualified jurors. Those selected include Vickie Arnold of Swoope; Karen Fridley of Churchville; Richard K. Halterman, II of Fort Defiance, and Edward R. Long of New Hope.

     “Jury Commissioners play an important role in reviewing and qualifying potential jurors each year for Augusta County’s Circuit Court,” Landes said. “We thank these Augusta County citizens for their willingness to serve and take on this key responsibility in the jury process.”

     The Code of Virginia states that the Judge of the Circuit Court shall appoint at least two, but no more than 15 persons as jury commissioners. The jury commissioner’s responsibility is to provide the Court with a list of qualified jurors for jury service for the next year. The jury commissioners do not select jurors. Jurors are randomly selected. The deadline for compiling a list of qualified jurors is December 1. Jury commissioners are eligible for reappointment.

     The Augusta County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office is in downtown Staunton at the Augusta County Courthouse. The Clerk serves as the recorder of deeds and probate judge, issues marriage licenses and is the official court administrator for all civil and criminal cases. The Clerk creates and maintains all court files and records, prepares court orders and jury lists, contacts jurors and issues summons and court processes. More information about the services of the Augusta County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office can be found online at

Showing 1 reaction

Volunteer Post a suggestion